YLC’11 – What are the Young Leaders saying?

The Young Leaders’ Conference 2011 has come to an end after 6 action packed days of non-stop learning and development. The participants will remember the words “Emman”, “Ittehad”, “Tanzeem”, and “Inqilaab”, the theme of the conference, for a long time to come. After many months of hard struggle for sponsorships and other methods of financing, the participants came to the conference with a lot of excitement and expectations. We talked with a few participants and facilitators about their aspirations and expectations from the YLC’11.

Sagar Malik from Khairpur was one of the participants we got a chance to talk with. Sagar is also the current president of the Rotaract Club of Khairpur“YLC is a platform that will enable me to develop into a confident professional, a team player, allow me to make new friends, and will teach me how to deal with tough life situations. I have already made a few friends and looking forward to make many more”, said Sagar when asked about his YLC experience.

Nosherwani Mazari from Sadiqabad expressed his views on Day 1 of the conference: “It has been a great experience so far. We are having a lot of fun and learning new things. I further expect to open up my mind and look at the world in a new way. When I go back home after the conference, I want to take back with me leadership skills. We expect everything to be done by the government, by the president, or the prime minister. But the fact is that we need to play our own individual roles for the betterment of the society”. When asked about the diversity of participants from all over the country, he said, “I have met people from Swabi, from Kohat, and even from Waziristan…it’s truly amazing”.

Another participant we got a chance to catch up with was Hamna Qureshi from Islamabad. “It’s been a great experience so far, I’ve met a lot of people and I’ve made new friends. I’ve interacted with people from places that I didn’t even know existed in Pakistan, so I feel great that I’ve got a chance to learn about the different kinds of people, cultures, and traditions that exist in our country. The diversity I’m witnessing here has opened up my mind” she said. When asked about what she expects to get out of this conference, she said, “I hope to learn leadership skills, gain confidence, and public speaking skills”. About the rest of the participants at the conference, she said, “I have found them to be very cooperative and friendly. They’re easy to talk to, down to earth, be it people from different cities or villages, they’re all very accommodating and helpful”.

The kind of talent we saw at the YLC’11 from all over the country, gives Pakistan great hope for times to come. Witnessing the Young Leaders of 2011 debate on different complex issues that exist in today’s Pakistani society and hear them talk about their hopes and aspirations about their country was truly heartening. Surely, the future of Pakistan is in good hands.

 

Written By: M. Athar Ali Khan

One thought on “YLC’11 – What are the Young Leaders saying?

  1. Am Aziz ullah Surani from Bannu surani village. Am trying from 2009 go attend the YLC but due to financial problem. I haven’t attend it in 2011. but am going to dis heart not getting any sponsorship. really am discourage but want 100% go attend the next year 2012. Inshanallah I will attend them. any way.
    But also missing that why I don’t know. but am believe on luck. But for next year hope from Dawn group sponsorship.
    Thanks

Comments are closed.