Spelling Bee, Lahore: the story so far

[Thursday, September 30, 2010]

The Dawn in Education Spelling Bee tournament began on Tuesday, September 28, 2010, with as many as 120 schools from Lahore, Multan, Faisalabad, Sialkot, Gujrat, Gujranwala, Okara, Sahiwal, Hafizabad, Layyah, Muzaffargarh, Sargodha, Kasur, Kharian, Bahawalpur, Muridke, Daska, Lalamusa, Khanewal and Jhang participating at the Alhamra Cultural Complex, Qadhafi Stadium. The competition was conducted in three age groups. The pool rounds for the 9-11 year age group were held on Tuesday and Wednesday, September 28 and 29; the 12-14 year age group on Wednesday and Thursday, September 29 and 30; and the 15-17 year age group participants are to compete on Friday, October 1, 2010. The regional championship for all three age groups will be held on October 2.

The 12 schools listed below emerged victorious in the 9-11 age group contests during the Sixth Dawn Education Spelling Bee Competition in Lahore.

  1. Lahore Grammar School, Shalimar Campus, 16-B, Link Road, Lahore
  2. Beaconhouse School System, 419-B Sultanabad, GT Road, Gujrat
  3. Beaconhouse School System (Girls), Vaniawala Mor, Sialkot Road, Gujranwala
  4. Sialkot Grammar School (Daska Branch), SGS College Road, Daska
  5. LACAS (Girls), 302 F-11, Johar Town, Lahore
  6. Aitchison College, Upper Mall, Lahore
  7. Bloomfield Hall (Senior), Johar Town, Lahore
  8. Defence Public School and College (Boys), 305-R Phase-II, DHA, Lahore
  9. Lahore Grammar School, Junior Section, Ghalib Market, Gulberg-III, Lahore
  10. Garrison Junior Academy, Sarwar Road, Lahore Cantt
  11. The City School (Senior Campus), Irshad Colony, Khanewal
  12. The City School (Senior), Model Town, Lahore

The 4 schools listed below won in the 12-14 age group contests at the Spelling Bee Competition in Lahore.

  1. The City School (Senior), Lahore
  2. Lahore Grammar School (EME Branch), Canal Bank, Lahore
  3. Resource Academia (Senior Branch), Gulberg-III, Lahore
  4. Crescent Model Higher Secondary School, Shadman, Lahore

The contests were judged by two-member two teams of judges provided by the Oxford University Press. Asma Sabir and Aneela Zaheer judged the competition in the morning session, while Aysha Gulzar and Uzma Khan judged the contests in the afternoon. Tanvir Shah and Tehmina Malik were the pronouncers in the morning and afternoon sessions, respectively.